No Easy Way Out!

I hate to admit this, but in the past, when I had a short school week, my lesson plans were simple.  Do a quick review in the textbook, or a page in the social studies workbook.  What a difference a year makes.

Last year when I was approached with the idea of a 1:1 iPad pilot program, I agreed to limiting my textbooks to the math workbook. Now I am feeling the impact of my decision.  I can’t EVER take the easy way out any more.  I have to really think about what I need to teach and find different and more creative ways to disseminate information. I have to dig, read, and research topics.  I have to ask others for help. I have to know what I am talking about. There is NO easy way out this year.

I have gone home each day since the start of school with very little voice left and my feet throbbing.  As I was driving home today, I had an epiphany.  I AM REALLY TEACHING THIS YEAR!

I need to backtrack a little. I feel that I always taught, but there were days when I could say, “Read pages blah,blah,blah..” and then I could grade a set of papers, do Friday folders, etc.  Now, I can’t.  I have to figure out what I need to teach, research it, figure out the best way to teach it, then, imagine this, teach it!

Without textbooks, there is no easy way out.  I can’t coast by without really reading the book.  I am the book.

This presents a lot of stress, but I have to say that the last two weeks have been good for me.  I have had to push myself and leave my comfort zone. The ability to have iPads for every student is priceless.  The students and I are on a journey together and right now they are leading me; however, I am trying to catch up and get ahead of them with the help of the 21st Century Team.

I want to thank Michelle and Joni too.  I have two amazing assistant teachers.  Michelle is phenomenal with finding great apps for rotations during math and Joni is a wizard when it comes to hands-on projects (an area where I always lacked because I am not creative in the least.)  Both are mind readers when it comes to helping me out with the students.  Before I can even ask them to do something, they’ve done it.

So this year will be hard without textbooks, but I think it will be the best year yet!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. David
    Sep 03, 2013 @ 11:10:34

    Good for you for taking the road less traveled. Everyone wins!

    Reply

  2. Trackback: » RT @langwitches: Honest reflection of teacher who…

Leave a Reply

Teacher-Twenty-One

September 2013
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Oct »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 4 other followers

